Asthanga Yoga

Asthanga in Sanskrit translates as "the eight limbs of yoga". Patanjali classifies the eight limbs of Asthanga as: Yamas (abstinences), Niyama (observances), Asana (postures), Pranayama (breathing), Pratyahara (withdrawal), Dharana (concentration), Dhyana (meditation) and Samadhi (absorption). 

Asthanga Yoga is the journey one can take to tune into their mind, body and soul to perform optimally in this world. It is an immeasurably rewarding form of yoga practice with innumerable benefits that go beyond enhancing physical strength and flexibility. 

It activates our inner strength and increases the synergy between the mind and body. Other benefits of Ashtanga yoga are: 

Heightened spiritual health, 

Effective cardio workout

Balanced breathing rhythms

Enhanced mood and emotional strength

Decrease in hypertension issues and lifestyle diseases

Decreased stubborn fat



Mats, blocks and bolsters are provided. 


Suitable for all levels of practitioners. 



Avata | Asthanga Yoga